Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2011, 06:14 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Beachy Head lighthouse
Photo Location: near Eastbourne, UK ISO: 100 

02-01-2011, 11:36 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Really like the composition and the way the light is playing, but I think I personally would have done a little more highlight recovery on the cliff face, to bring a little more detail up hopefully.
02-02-2011, 07:07 AM   #3
juu
Veteran Member

Original Poster
wffwii, thanks.

The highlight recovery was already pretty high; I turned it up more but it starts to look a lot less white as it felt in real life if turned up higher. Another rendering:

There is something wrong with the picture and I'm not sure what. If anybody has ideas, please let me know.
02-02-2011, 01:19 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery
Wish I knew what to tell you as far as thinking there's "something wrong". I'm still learning the post-processing nuances myself. I personally don't see anything wrong with it except for what looks "right" to me when I edit something. And yeah, it's easy to over-recover. Been learning that with some of my latest pics.

02-02-2011, 06:32 PM   #5
Millionth Poster!
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This is one of those times to take two or more shots. shot one for cliff, sky, forground, beach and then put them all together.
the light on the cliff is making it hard to balance the shot.
02-02-2011, 08:32 PM   #6
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

The above comments are on the ball - this image could have done with some multi-exposure blending/HDR, but not all that much - just enough to balance the contrast a little better and enhance the colours.
02-03-2011, 05:04 AM   #7
juu
Veteran Member

Original Poster
OK, thanks. So you think it's just too high contrast and too low DR in the picture to do it justice.

02-05-2011, 09:03 PM   #8
Pentaxian