Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2011, 12:39 PM   #1
Forum Member

sharpness
Lens: sigma 18-200mm f.35/6.3 Camera: pentax kx ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/180s Aperture: F8 

hello all,
today is the first day of critique for my photography class. this tiny lady who's about 5'2" and is as skinny as a twig was BRUTAL!!!! (i'm glad she is though because that's how we learn obviously) i submitted the bottom picture for critique and she said that the photo was either somewhat out of focus or that i was shooting at a low resolution. there was no post processing, other than converting the camera from raw to jpeg. so, i'm here to ask what you guys think. any and all constructive criticism is definitely welcome. brutality is acceptable. because my photo wouldn't upload here's a link to my flickr:
winter sun | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

02-09-2011, 02:17 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
I'm no expert, but I have taken a photography class but for film. How does it work, do critique on screen or from prints? The exif shows you shot at the widest at 18mm on the sigma. Could be that lens just isn't that sharp at the wide end. Also, with the composition and subject matter, I'm not sure where you can actually measure sharpness.

I just downloaded the file from Flickr and it does look like resolution is low.
02-09-2011, 02:33 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
we do critique from the computer screen, which is proected from a projector onto a screen in front of the classroom. the monitor is the truest way to look at a photo, the projector is too dark and washes the colors out. i saved the photos in cs5, maybe some information was lost? as for the lens, you may be right as well. i just don't know how to measure sharpness when it comes to different focal lengths.
02-09-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery