Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2011, 06:17 PM   #1

First macro attempts
Lens: Vivitar Series 1 70-210 Camera: K-r 

I finally decided to be brave and put up a few macro shots of some roses (in full and half bloom) in the garden. A bit of morning rain helps as well!

I'm only starting out so please be nice

EDIT: I re-shot them with custom white balance, happier with the colours now. Did some light unsharp mask in Photoshop.. are they too sharp maybe?

The second version of the rose in half bloom has reduced depth of field for better subject isolation, hopefully that helps in the composition stakes!

Thanks in advance for your comments

Last edited by nandystam; 02-10-2011 at 07:37 PM.
02-11-2011, 03:59 PM   #2
Inactive Account

I think they are really nice. I am just starting out, yours inspires me. I can't wait till spring so I can get serious with the pics.
02-11-2011, 04:54 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In my honest opinion, you could back off on the exposure a little bit. Colors are fine but they look overexposed to me.

2010 Roses - a set on Flickr

Last edited by JeffJS; 02-11-2011 at 07:38 PM.
02-11-2011, 06:22 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
+1 on JeffjS advice...if you do that, the background will look better too and the rose will still be as beautifull...Maybe you could try someway to make a better background too (something greenier to contrast with the rose's colors?).

02-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Hey Nandystam! You're starting off with macro exactly the same way as I did! That lens should be a very good tool for learning : )

+2 to Jeff. The color of the rose seems to have lost its saturation due to overexposure.