Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2011, 04:14 PM   #1

University Of New Mexico people/approach/test...Don't be ashamed!
Lens: 50mm Sigma 1.4 HSM Camera: Pentax K5 Photo Location: New Mexico 

Based on a thread started recently by Student, which was labeled "Ashamed of taking my camera for a walk through town...", I decided I would do a little test. Since I am a student at UNM and have never brought my camera on campus I thought I would see what kind of reactions I get from people when I photograph them with and without permission. Please keep in mind this was not conducted in a scientific manner, but I wanted to see if I attracted the same negative attention that Student did in the above thread. I will also mention that many who know me well, consider me to be rather serious and to have a dry sense of humor and have often commented on how hard I am to read, as I often look mad, but in reality I just look that way when I am in deep thought. So in order to force myself to stay close to the subjects I chose to photograph, I decided I would only use one lense, which was the Sigma 50mm 1.4 HSM. This assured that I was obvious and more likely to attract some attention. I also had the grip attached to my camera, mainly because I can't stand the fit of the K5/K7 without it, but I also considered it may help attract attention as the camera resembles a more professional looking camera with it. I am looking for CC on the photos that I post and comments regarding the reason I did this. Please keep in mind though that the light was extremely hash that day and I did not bring and diffusers, reflectors, or flashes, and I generally don't use the on camera pop up flash.

Students Thread https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/general-photography/132375-ashamed-taking...ough-town.html