Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2011, 10:54 AM   #1

Beach Grass - My first "real" pic ever
Lens: 18-55mm Camera: Pentax k-x Photo Location: The Beach :) 

I just got my first SLR camera and this is one of my very first pictures. Well at least one of the first that I thought out and really tried to capture the moment.
(We were at the beach and the sun was bright but clouds were rolling in behind us. The wind started to pick up and the pressure dropped.. just a cool scene)

Please critique it for me. I am totally new at this and at photography in general. So don't worry, I wont feel bad if you say it totally blows!

But I would really like feedback as to what I am doing so any comments are appreciated,

PS - the camera was a wedding gift and I took this on our honeymoon. That tells you how new I am at it. )

Thanks!

Name:  Beach Grass (1 of 1).jpg
Views: 479
Size:  202.5 KB

10-04-2011, 11:48 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I can see that there went some thought into the image and I think there is some potential in it.
I like the sun partially hidden by that blade, so the basic idea of the shot seems solid to me. You brought yourself into trouble with that very tricky light situation, though, by looking directly in the sun. I think you did very well here with your exposure, yes, the sun is a bit blown out but it's still looking quite natural. The blades of grass kept some of their colour, they easily could go all black with that backlight. So all of that you have done well.
On the other hand:
Firstly I find the colours a bit too weak for this kind of image. Looking at your avatar picture you feel the same, colours are more vivid in that one.
Secondly the composition is very tricky here as the shot easily looks too busy. I would love to see the frame extending a bit to the left to have the top of that corner blade in the frame completely. But I guess there is always the next one that I would longing for...