Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-09-2011, 03:47 AM   #1

errin

i would be grateful for any critique as i am not only new to dslr......i am new to photography as of last year. These pictures are of the daughter of a family friend at a birthday party this summer. thanks.

Attached Images

10-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
They seem a bit soft, but have a good exposure.
10-11-2011, 12:29 AM   #3

Original Poster
critique

many thanks specialk, i have lots of pics with the same problem and apart from my lack of experience i can only attribute it to the lens used in all shots.....smc pentax-FA4.5-5.6 80-320mm. It is a cheap lens and goes soft at longer focal lengths but is acceptably sharp at 80mm. I would like to upgrade to similar focal range but as cost is an issue, that will have to wait but for future reference..any recommendations ? many thanks.
10-11-2011, 08:49 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I like the first pic better than the second. I think shallower DoF with focus on the face would improve the picture by drawing more attention to your daughter's face. But you'll need a faster lens for that. Depending on the situation I use a 50 mm, 85 mm or 135 mm lens for portraits. I would suggest to get a fast (1.7 and faster) 50 mm lens. If you don't mind manual focusing you can get them really cheap. In the 80 mm range Pentax has two excellent portrait lenses: the A* 85 mm f1.4 and the FA* 85 mm f1.4, but they're hard to get and even harder to pay for...

10-12-2011, 01:36 AM   #5

Original Poster