Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2011, 10:08 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Kittens
Lens: 14-42mm Olympus Kit Lens Camera: Olympus E-520 Photo Location: My poorly-lit apartment 

Hello, first time posting in anything like this - my kittens (quickly becoming 'cats') are my main subjects lately with grad school taking up most of my daylight time, so I thought it would be a good idea to get some feedback on the shots I've gotten of them so far. As you can probably tell from my pictures, I'm no professional, and everything I know is just from reading online and experimenting. I've only been 'serious' about wanting to improve my photography for the past 6 months or so.

I'm not quite sure they are 'nature' since they were taken indoors, but it was the most fitting category I saw. Anyway, here they are, any feedback or advice is welcome! My apartment isn't lit very well, so if there's something I should be doing differently with the flash (or additional flashes?) to improve the shots, I'd appreciate that, too - really new to all this.

A little dark now that I see it on my work computer screens.. I do all of my editing/reviewing on a laptop, and the screen is probably far from properly calibrated.

11-09-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The last one is definitely a little dark but they are generally very nice. I love the composition of the last one! Did you add the vignette? It might be a little too much IMO.
The background of the first one is just a bit distracting and I would have left a little more room around the cat's ear that touches the edge of the frame.

Overall I think you are on the right track and the photos are good. I can see you think about your compositions which is a good thing!
11-09-2011, 01:17 PM   #3