Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2011, 07:07 PM   #1
Forum Member

Testing Lens and Style
Lens: Vivitar 75-205mm f3.8 Camera: Pentax K-x 

I just recently bought a Vivitar 75-205mm f3.8 and I'm loving it! It sure is heavy though. I walked around and tested the lens mainly wide open. I'm fairly new at PP and would love some criticism on my pictures both composition and PP wise.

12-31-2011, 04:52 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's always more difficult to critique photos when there's several, but I'll do my best.

I like the background in the first- the exposure was definitely good. IMO, it would have been better if the sun had more breathing room on the left, and also I would clone out the stray twigs near the right and top edges. Apart from that, very nice! Because of all the negative space and the position of the sun relative to the branch, I think that the square-ish format works here

The colors in the second are nice, but there's no real focal point, and the corners are a bit distorted.

The complementary colors in the third work well together, but the image seems a bit crooked, and I think a complete different crop would have been better. Either get rid of the top and/or the bottom, or show more of each. This might even work as a vertical because of the pipe.

Nice sharpness in the fourth, but if we're going to be documenting animals, their tails shouldn't be cut off Apart from that, the colors seem properly balanced and the position of the squirrel in the frame is fine.