Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2012, 11:19 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Scrap metal
Lens: CPC 28mm 2.8 macro Camera: KX Photo Location: KY woods ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/60s Aperture: F5.6 

Name:  2012 winter Feb 204 b.jpg
Views: 348
Size:  189.9 KB

02-20-2012, 04:31 AM   #2
smf
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thanks for posting this.

You might try increasing the contrast a bit.
02-20-2012, 05:41 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Promising shot of a worthy subject. Looks like you had to deal with the challenges of dim and flat light, and a busy uninteresting background. On-camera flash solves the problem of dimness, but not of flat light -- getting the flash away from the camera greatly increases the possibilities. Of course that involves more gear and more fuss, which I'm just learning about myself. Lacking that, a tripod to allow a long exposure would another way to deal with the dim light, and would avoid the problem of light fall-off from having the light source (the flash) so close to the subject (the right side of the car and especially the roof is brighter and flatter, which is distracting).

I think this subject would work best either with the whole car in view or with a tighter focus on particular details. Right now I find the perspective too in-between -- suggestive of the whole but looking a bit too cropped.
02-20-2012, 10:23 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for all the replies.Would like to have had the whole car in the picture but the 28mm was the only lens with me and was blocked by trees to step back.Did use the on camera flash to get a little light inside the car.Will take the long walk back to the Buick later.
Thanks,
Jake

02-20-2012, 12:01 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by baro-nite Quote