Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-18-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
advertising photographs
Lens: FA 31mm Camera: Pentax K-5 

Hi,
I made an attempt to take some photographs to advertise my photo gear (for sale, actually, but it doesn't matter for this topic). While I do like the result and I think that the photos are good, this is my first try and I want your critique concerning light, composition, background, subject placing, point of view (esp. concerning the first two), maybe aperture values (DOF). I want to develop some skills in this type of photography.
Thanks.

03-18-2012, 05:33 PM   #2
Forum Member

I used to struggle with the camera strap arrangement when taking photos of equipment which I was selling.... remove the straps. It's cleaner. And I think showing all the bits in one frame is secondary to tighter crops which reveal the detailed condition of the product... people want assurance there really aren't any scratches on the lcd (example) rather than seeing that the cap and hood are included. Sometimes you can do all these things, mind you. The set up is nice and your pictures are perfectly clear, so good job there, they're not going to harm the eventual sale price...
03-18-2012, 08:55 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the input weave2d2!
03-18-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Lens caps are not lens supports :-)

Always show the name...

03-19-2012, 05:27 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi

Product shots have inevitably two function and this is to sell and/or cataloguing.
Look at your offering and decide for yourself if what you see satisfies your curiosity about the product or not. (Would you buy off these pictures?)