Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2012, 08:47 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Absolute Beginner - consider yourself warned!
Lens: Pentax 18-55 kit lens Camera: K5 Photo Location: Texas Aperture: F5.6 

Absolutely no idea what I am doing (as you can immediately see) but thought I'd start taking pictures and work with the trial version of Lightroom 4. I know they're worthless compared to all the pics posted on here but its the best pics I've ever taken so that's a huge improvement for me. All C&C welcome.

Let's see if this works.

Last edited by Sage97; 04-10-2012 at 08:57 PM.
04-10-2012, 08:51 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Not a bad start :-) It's easy to fall into the habit of centering your subject. For #1, I'd crop off the left side with the bright area, and some of the top or bottom for balance. It's a bit soft to start with, and cropping won't help that, but it will give a better composition.

For #2, the centered subject works well, especially because the petals lead in from the corners.

Last edited by SpecialK; 04-10-2012 at 09:51 PM.
04-10-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
SpecialK,

Fantastic advice. Thanks very much.

Any thoughts on "unsoftening" (hehe) my next pics? Do I need to keep working on camera settings or PP?
04-10-2012, 09:21 PM   #4
MSL
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The second picture is far from worthless. Hard to know whether you need to play more with PP or not, since I don't have a sense of how much you have tinkered with the image. But even as is, it is a good shot.