Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-24-2012, 12:27 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Fishing with Dad
Lens: Smc PENTAX-DA L 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED Camera: Kr Photo Location: Dublin,Ireland ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/1500s Aperture: F8 

I took this snap shoot while out and about. I like it, but, I’m new to photography and this Form so any constructive criticism is welcome.
Thank you and hello, Mic

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
04-24-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I'm guessing you composed the shot to include all the fishing pole, but it sort of makes it unbalanced as everything else is on the other side. The pole is actually not important :-)

I would at least crop of the green on the left. It may also benefit from a little more contrast and a little underexposure.

Last edited by SpecialK; 04-24-2012 at 05:30 PM.
04-24-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by mic_g8 Quote
I took this snap shoot while out and about. I like it, but, I’m new to photography and this Form so any constructive criticism is welcome.
Thank you and hello, Mic
The previous poster has some points, however, I think from a story telling point of view, you have captured your intent. I agree with the previous poster on proper composition, but IMHO your first responsibility is to tell your story.
04-25-2012, 06:23 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Yes fishing with Dad is an important story the world over. I agree that a slight crop on left and right to remove the green and also to be realy picky, the person in orange on the right. Just a couple of things intruding on the frame. Otherwise near perfect.

04-25-2012, 07:11 AM   #5
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter