Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-06-2012, 10:15 PM - 1 Like   #1

Cattle Egret- First Real Try at Birds
Lens: Pentax DA-55-300mm Camera: K7 Photo Location: India ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/250s Aperture: F5.8 

Would like to get suggestions on the shot. I am in the very initial stages of Photography...

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
05-07-2012, 02:40 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice try but... shooting birds with a focal length of 300mm your shurtter speed should have been at least 1/450s. Faster would have been better. Also using a smaller f stop would have given you more detail. As a bird photographer, I usually shoot at f8, 1/500s to 1/1000s.
This photo of yours, the head is out of focus.
Remember this about shoot birds...they move, you may not see it with your naked eye, but they are always twitching.

And cropping. If you want the bird to stand out and be the main subject, crop both sides. You don't need the excess field views.
05-07-2012, 04:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Tough to shoot birds...need at least a 500mm lens I would say. With a 300mm you are a bit limited. I also use shutter of 1/500ms and above with a decent f-stop of nothing less that f5.6. Up your ISO if needed be. I agree with Photolady. Cheers.
05-07-2012, 04:37 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by bezuidar Quote
.need at least a 500mm lens
Most of my birds are shot with a Sigma 70-300mm lens at 300mm. Of course, I will say, if the birds are rather far away, a 500mm would be the lens to use.

Case in point:

05-07-2012, 04:53 AM   #5
smf
Pentaxian

Please do not be discouraged if a 500 mm lens isn't in your budget right away.