Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2012, 10:04 AM   #1

Quiet Summer Portraits
Camera: K-r Photo Location: University of Toronto 

Hello everyone!

I'm still fairly new at doing portraits but here are my latest attempts. Any comments would be very helpful!

Also, if anyone has tips for working with models, especially those without much experience, it would be much appreciated too.

06-20-2012, 12:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I find the first two images a bit flat in a sense that there do not seem to be any angle: the bench and the background building are strictly in a plan in the first image. The model is exactly facing the camera in the second one. The red pole or whatever it is in the background is a real concern in the first image. The dress takes far too much attention in the second image. I would suggest a square format for this one. My favorite is the third one. The model and the background are very nice but each occupies exactly half of the space. I would suggest the following crop to get better proportions in the image.
Attached Images

06-20-2012, 08:59 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
they are very soft natural daylight..this kind light usually look good on girl.
but to my taste, the contrast is low..
I would add more contrast in post
depend on your taste
06-20-2012, 10:11 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Prefer the close up ones. Skin maybe a tint to bright, otherwise not to bad!

06-20-2012, 10:29 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hi

A bit of powder to take the shine off the nose and above upper lip.
07-02-2012, 01:41 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Hi!
I like all of them, especially the first and the third.
For the second one, my advice is to set the model exactly in the middle of the bow of the building, just for composition,