Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2012, 08:01 AM   #1

Is it a good idea to crop top of head when shooting couples?
Lens: 18-135mm Camera: K-30 Photo Location: N/A ISO: 400 Shutter Speed: 1/45s Aperture: F8 

The photo below is a photograph of a newly engaged couple. My attempt was to create a semi formal photo, a photo that I could hang on the wall.

I am wondering if close in crop in the photo was a good idea? My reservations is - the crop only affects one person.

Any advice on the cropping technique to be used when photographing couples, or any other tip to take better former couple shots would be most welcome. I am an amateur who has owned a Pentax SLR for over 15 years but never made a serious attempt to improve my photography.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
08-25-2012, 08:08 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The answer is emphatically, no!. Why include knees but not complete heads? Also why include all that dead space on the left? Can you post the uncropped photo?
08-25-2012, 08:16 AM   #3

I agree. Heads in for portraits.
08-25-2012, 08:32 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Always include the top of heads. Photo-101.

08-25-2012, 08:45 AM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by dadipentak Quote
The answer is emphatically, no!. Why include knees but not complete heads? Also why include all that dead space on the left? Can you post the uncropped photo?
The photo was shot with deliberate cropping and now I feel stupid about it. From your reply it appears pros crop in PP, not while taking the shot. Is that a correct assumption?

As to the wasted space, I was focusing on the framing that the fireplace behind provided.

Fortunately, I did take a more conventional shot, but I am sure that too has some flaws that I would like to learn about. Is the cropping on the sides here acceptable, or is that also a No! No!