Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-19-2012, 08:54 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Pelicans
Lens: smc PENTAX-DA L 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED Camera: K-X Photo Location: Florida ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/750s Aperture: F5.6 

I'm relatively new to even halfway serious photography. Here are a couple of my favorite shots of Pelicans. I'm trying to improve, so any helpful suggestions are appreciated.

10-19-2012, 10:51 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Cool birds I like the idea of the one in focus in front, & the others out of focus behind. His feathers are sharp, but he's pretty close to the bottom of the frame; his tail is just a bit cut off. I think the background doesn't work here though -- both the shapes & the colours distract considerably from the pelicans.
#2 works because it doesn't have the same problem -- a little more space below the bird, & a less "busy" background. Also sharp, & the colour tint is ok too. This guy looks quite stately & striking. You got a little catch-light in the eye in both shots, which is always good.
"Halfway" to serious photography is ok -- as long as the serious photography is still fun! So, carry on, watch your backgrounds/depth of field, & cropping.
10-20-2012, 06:51 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
I find your comments about the background on the first shot being distracting very interesting. I really liked the boat in the background, thought it brought context, but you don't like it. It's interesting to get a different perspective.

I didn't even notice the problem with framing, I had cropped it down slightly trying to get the eye of the first pelican right on the 1/3 line. Here it is opened up to include the tail, and I also rotated it slightly. Is this a little better?

10-20-2012, 07:26 AM   #4