Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2012, 04:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Backgrounds?
Lens: 43 Ltd Camera: K5 Photo Location: Texas ISO: 80 Shutter Speed: 1/60s Aperture: F6.7 

My youngest son and his new wife #4 visited last weekend and I took a lot of shots of them in my little studio......some were decent, some not so much, but over all I think what failed me most was the lack of more varying backgrounds? I have a few new backgrounds on order, and hope this will help bring more satisfaction to my eyes?

I am not good at digital backgrounds, but if anyone would like to play with this one and do some different backgrounds I would be delighted for you to give it a go and post here!
Regards!
Rupert

Janice.....wife #4, and a genuine sweetheart, this one is a keeper...if this fails we will dump our son and keep her!
[IMG] [/IMG]

He's a good guy, but knows nothing of women (who really does?)....this time he just plain "got lucky"!
[IMG] [/IMG]

11-18-2012, 06:51 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

OK, I'm no expert, but I used to shot a lot of people - er, photograph a lot of people. It isn't your backgrounds that's the problem, it's the lighting of your backgrounds. Too flat, too uniform. A portrait studio needs depth, so you can place the subject some distance in front of the background, and control the lighting separately. If you can, try adding a separate light striking just the background from one side, to achieve a gradiation of tone across the background. Of course, you can't allow light to bounce from the background onto the subject, although a touch of backlighting giving a rimlight wouldn't hurt, either.
Re: the son and new daughter-in-law. Best wishes to the lovely couple.
Thanks for sharing.
11-18-2012, 06:53 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery