Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2013, 06:02 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Marina Shots
Lens: 18-55mm & 10-20mm Camera: K-30 

Some critique on my shots would be greatly appreciated. I am very new to photography so not only am I learning my way around a camera, I am also trying to learn the art. These are mostly taken around the Marina of my home town. And one of the power station, but the shot is similar in composure as the others so put it in here.

Kit 18-55mm lens, 1/200 f13 ISO 100 55mm

Kit 18-55mm lens, 1/160 f7.1 ISO 100 20mm

Sigma 10-20mm F3.5, 1/1000 f4.5 ISO 100 10mm

Sigma 10-20mm F3.5, 1/50 f9 ISO 100 20mm

Last edited by dcBear78; 01-29-2013 at 10:20 PM.
01-29-2013, 09:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Too many images (and it's late where I am) for any real criticism. I like the third a lot.
Watch your framing - the house in the second would probably look better if the lines of the house (the trim & gutters, etc.) were square to the frame of the image.
Nice scenes.
Thanks for sharing.
01-30-2013, 06:53 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
1. The composition kind of follows the rule of thirds. It could have a little more water instead of sky, but that's not really a problem. You can try cropping a little from the top and the left, just so you see for yourself if it brings out the subjects more. Here you might want to adjust the white balance so the white boats don's seem so blue. But this is a good shot, has some repeating elements (the docked boats), leading line, level horizon. ISO 100 and f13 were the right choices.