Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2013, 10:53 PM - 1 Like   #1

Sunset with my K-5: Day 2
Lens: DA 21mm F3.2 Camera: K-5 Photo Location: The Pacific Ocean 

Hello, I'm David, a total novice to photography, and I took pictures of the sunset over the course of three days, and I've found myself at more ease each day with the K-5, having gotten it a two weeks ago; I crave a constant increase of standard, and would love your criticisms regarding my pictures. No post processing was done. These were taken on day 2 of my shooting with the K-5:

Attached Images

Last edited by BeginnerDave; 02-05-2013 at 11:13 PM.
02-06-2013, 12:19 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Hi, David. Good choice with the K-5.

You've got some good images here. I think #1 and #2 are pretty strong. You've got good composition with the position of the horizon and the sun--a nice symmetry, and a straight horizon. They might be a tad on the dark side to me, but I wonder what others think. Some processing here would be good to really bring out the colors and detail in the clouds.

Images #3 and #4 have some good colors, but are far too dark in my opinion. I wonder what your settings are at?

I would definitely use a tripod for these shots. You must be at least at an F/11 I think, but you might try stopping it down further or lowering the ISO to increase the shutter speed and smooth out the water? Also, have you thought about trying an HDR here? If you did a natural kind of HDR to even out the exposure of the sky to water, I bet you could get an amazing shot.

Those are my thoughts.

--Jim
02-06-2013, 06:10 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Congratulations on entering the world of photography, and with such an excellent kit!