Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
first attempt at waterfall
Camera: K-r Photo Location: Leura Cascades ISO: 200 Aperture: F32 

This is my first attempt at shooting waterfalls.
I would appreciate any pointers that I can get.

Thank you in advance.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
04-08-2013, 05:02 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
It appears the rocks in the foreground are over-exposed. The leafs on the left are also distracting. I would clip the image and retain the upper right portion.
04-08-2013, 05:03 AM   #3
smf
Pentaxian

Very nice — especially for a first attempt!
If it was my photo, I'd crop in a bit from the right and perhaps also from the left a bit. I might also try to somewhat darken part of the foreground. And you might want to see if you like a very shallow version of the photo in which you crop out all or almost all of the foreground rocks.
Best wishes, a belated welcome to Pentaxforums, and I'd enjoy seeing more of your photographs.
04-08-2013, 05:47 AM   #4
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

You'll find that if you want to take these sorts of photos at slow speed a neutral density filter will help. I was a bit surprised you bumped all the way up to F32 but kept the ISO at 200 rather than 100. A difficult composition because of the wide range between the well lit rocks and shadowy waterfall - probably a different time of day would have worked better. As others have noted a good start, and certainly an image good enough to play with a bit to make even better.

04-08-2013, 05:52 AM   #5
Pentaxian

+1 for different time of day. Magical shots need magical light... I have shot waterfalls close to mid day, but they wee almost completely covered by the forest canopy. The contrast in this scene is just way to stark for a "dreamy" image.
04-08-2013, 08:37 AM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter