Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-16-2013, 07:33 PM   #1

Beginner... Critique Please...
Lens: 17-50mm Camera: Pentax K-5 ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: Above 6s Aperture: F22 

Im still fairly new to photography and want to learn the art of landscape photography so i need your help to critique my 2 photos ive taken recently..

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
04-16-2013, 08:00 PM   #2

Might be just me but the water lacks life. The "foggy" effect long exposure gives to water is nice but in this scenario i find a faster shutter speed might have kept it a little more lively.
I am also a beginner so my opinion has to be taken with a grain of salt

Other than that the sand on the beach and the "wood tent" looks great.
04-16-2013, 08:12 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The first one is much stronger. It has something in the foreground of interest, and the colors are more interesting. I really like the long exposure effect, but I've found that it is always best to "bracket" it. I'll usually take 2s, 10s, 20s, and I'm surprised how often the 2s shot is the best one. These seem just a bit too misty. Maybe shoot on a calmer day with shorter shutter.
04-16-2013, 08:31 PM   #4
Pentaxian

good early attempts here and the colors sure are popping. The sand in the first perhaps a little too yellow...but it could just be that golden light.
They both look a bit blurry to me. i cant figure out if it is misplaced focus or some wind movement during the 30sec. I am not a fan of this long of a water exposure unless that is the specific effect you desire. Some light lapping of waved with 2 sec is very nice sometimes.
The second image is almost there but needs something exciting in the foreground to bring it to life. had you identified a similar piece of wood, seaweed, shoe(?), etc and gotten down close and low, you would've had the shot.
keep up the good work!