Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2013, 04:44 PM   #1
Forum Member

Night scene with moon, Photoshop
Lens: Penax 18-55 kit lens Camera: Pentax K-r Photo Location: Vancouver BC ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 3s Aperture: F8 

It was a full moon night. I took the sunset picture first and then tool the full moon picture using a 230mm lens at 1/640s. Then, I use PS to cut and paste the moon to the sunset picture. Is this the only way to create this kind of moon+scene pictures? Most of my friends they like it but when I told them the moon is PS overlay. They all say cheating.

I am new to DSLR and only use PS for a few weeks.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
05-28-2013, 05:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's hard for my astronomical senses to see a full moon adjacent to a sunset - both of your images are nice but it hurts my brain a bit when they are together. I've seen worse though - once a picture had a crescent moon pointing away from where the sun was setting! I've seen a few movies that have done this too.

The real photoshop trick is implying you had a clear sunset in Vancouver!
I can say that as a joke, as I'm down the road in Portland where no one believes it of us either!
05-28-2013, 08:24 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Too-Full Moon

Hello Dmnf,
You've taken two good photos, but they don't really work together.
First, as jimr-pdx points out, the moon would be on the opposite horizon (rising) if you were looking West at a sunset.
Second, the moon is much too large for the photo perspective. The landscape photo has a natural perspective, as if (like the human eye) it was taken with a 35-50mm (or perhaps slightly wider) lens. But the moon was taken with a telephoto that magnified its size several times. I'd guess you could reduce the size of the moon by half and it would still look oversize, but wouldn't be as obvious.