Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2013, 02:32 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Macro-Moth-Mosquito-DragonFly
Lens: Tamron 90mm 2.8 Camera: K30 Photo Location: Montana 

I recently started to enjoy Macro photography. Here are some shots I think are OK. Cropped and ran through DXO 8 on the default settings.

Really looking for feedback on composition and post processing. I'm new to raw, but I see the advantage already while shooting raw+jpeg.

1). Moth Butterfly in my back yard. I would have like some sort of background.
Name:  IMGP3273_DxO.jpg
Views: 2971
Size:  144.8 KB
2). Mosquito on my finger. Again night shot with flash no background.
Name:  IMGP3779_DxO.jpg
Views: 717
Size:  101.2 KB
3). Dragonfly with eggsMites. I messed with the crop for awhile, I wanted to keep the shadow of the wings on the grass.
Name:  IMGP4223_DxO.jpg
Views: 1223
Size:  128.1 KB
4). Romantic DragonflyStyle. F20 Stopped down maybe to far colors are really muted and background is busy.
Name:  IMGP3603_DxO.jpg
Views: 676
Size:  192.0 KB

Last edited by ToyTank; 07-21-2013 at 09:07 AM.
07-20-2013, 02:55 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Wow awesome shots - especially that dragonfly was a rare opportunity ! Lucky you
07-20-2013, 02:59 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks Manntax! I find my hunting style serves me well shooting insects If I move slow and low and don't make eye contact they don't spook.

You can see a embryo in one of the backlit eggs on that dragonfly.
07-20-2013, 03:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ToyTank Quote
Thanks Manntax! I find my hunting style serves me well shooting insects If I move slow and low and don't make eye contact they don't spook.

You can see a embryo in one of the backlit eggs on that dragonfly.