Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2013, 11:14 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
First attempt of Portrait
Lens: 18-55 kit lens Camera: K-x Photo Location: Gardzienice, Poland ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/90s Aperture: F5.6 

Hello,

this is my first try of Portrait. I know that the red bushes behind the model are very bad for this photo but i tryed the BW version and i didn't like it.
Photo is cropped a little, and improved with use of histogram.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
09-22-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
Forum Member

Nice shot, great surroundings, looks like Mrs Autumn eventually arrived! Love the coat, although I would probably get rid of the bag I think your model deserves more focus, more sharpness in her look.

Whereabouts in Poland this location is, anywhere south off Lublin? I used to live in Lublin for years. And equally enough important another question: what is the name of your model?
09-22-2013, 03:20 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Its well-framed, and you used the right settings. You already know about the background - which is often one of the hardest parts of portraiture. The photographer simply focuses on the person, and then notices clashing only after the photo is processed. But its not too problematic in this case.
The thing I would recommend is overexposing the photo a little. Its a common technique, especially when taking photos of women. And another useful tip is to use burst mode. That way you can look at 5 photos that are almost identical, but will have slightly different angle, expression, etc. Its also good in case the person you are taking photos of blinks - with burst mode, you have a better chance. And then simply delete all the other photos, so they dont clutter your hard drive.
09-24-2013, 04:52 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
@Dariusz