Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2008, 10:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Redbud @ Night

Did a little experimenting this evening and thought I'd share my results as a complete noob attempting a little in-camera "hdr". Comments and criticisms are totally encouraged.

I was out bbqing chicken on the grill tonight and glanced over at the redbud in the yard. The spot from the house was lighting it up a bit and I thought "hmm, that might be a good opp to play with the multi-exposure mode and do some quasi-hdr...". So I rushed in and grabbed the camera, mounted the 18-55 and with the mini-pod in tow I dashed back outside.

I set up on the rail of the deck, set the shutter to 30s and metering said f/16 @ 200 ISO. Focused as best I could given the light available and snapped one off. This is the result.

Preview looked good so I pulled back the aperture to f/11 for the "hdr" attempt. Put the K10D into multi-exposure for 3 frames w/ EV comp turned on. I took the 3 frames at 3sec for -2EV, 6s for 0EV and 8sec for +1EV. And this is what came out...

I shot these in JPEG mode using +1 tick for both saturation and sharpness, bright image tone and auto WB. No post processing at all, just resized down to 1024 @ 100% quality for posting here.

For a rush job (there was bbq chicken cookin!!) I think they came out pretty good. I think either going from f/16 to f/11, or more likely I bumped the focus ring, caused the "hdr attmpt" to go a little fuzzy. I totally didn't see the piece of fuzz on the lens while I was shooting either *grr*.

03-29-2008, 06:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I like the subject and lighting, I just think
the backround is a bit distracting.
03-30-2008, 11:28 AM   #3

I agree that there is something distracting about this photo but I tend to think that there is too much raw light used.