Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2008, 08:07 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Bridge Photo

Hi folks,

This photo is my first in the critique section, and I'd like to see the feedback I get. I'm a beginner/hobbyist, never taken a photo class, and I recently had the chance to visit Taiwan and I took this photo at an old Dutch Fort.

The photo is uncropped and unmodified, taken on a DA10-17 Fisheye at 10mm, F22, ISO 400, 1/30.

Thanks for the comments.

04-02-2008, 07:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I posted in this section because I can take criticism, please help me out. I'm trying to determine what makes good photo.

My take: I'd bring the aperture down to F11 or so, and maybe get lower so the more boring bridge portion took up less than half of the total picture. The daytime lighting isn't terribly dramatic, but I need to shoot when I can because I was on vacation and my wife was already getting tired of me taking photos (she wasn't unhappy when we returned home and she had all these pics).
04-02-2008, 11:38 PM   #3
Veteran Member

IMHO / for what it is worth / just trying to help

If you have not had any class, course, or instruction in photography let me just say that you are off to a good start.
Everybody has their own unique style (or at least they fall into one in time), but more importantly everyone has different aspects or subjects that catch their eye. You can either view a library's worth of photo books, or copy the typical magazine shots (I think that generally we fall victim to saturation of commercial proven material, and use that material as a means of measure). The basics in any photo are
1) realize / find the interest and capture it as simply and clearly as you can
2) inclusion or exclusion (capture just the point of interest and blur the rest, or include supporting details along with the point of interest - Simply, Depth of field (DOF)