Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2014, 04:37 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Hockey Critique
Lens: DA 18-135 WR Camera: K-50 Photo Location: Wilmington Ice House 

Had the K-50 about a month, done mostly landscape type photography so far. I'm a paramedic and did a medic standby at a hockey game last night and took the opportunity to shoot the game. I must say I'm addicted to sports photography now, I had a blast trying to catch the action. All shots are with my K-50 and 18-135 WR lens. I did have to do quite a bit of PP in Lightroom to get the exposure where I wanted it but all in all I'm very pleased with how the combo did for a fairly budget setup. I've been trying to decide whether my next lens would be the Sigma 70-200 or Pentax DA* 60-250. I was leaning towards Sigma for the 2.8 but now that I've seen that K-50 can handle high ISOs I'm back to thinking the 60-250 can handle everything I would need it to do.

Took over 400 shots of the game. I picked the ones I thought were the best composition wise. I'm going to add more than 5 photos since I'm so new to this and am really curious on what types of shots people find most interesting. As always any and all criticism and advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Univ North Carolina Wilmington vs Univ South Carolina

Exposure 1/750 sec @ f/5.6
ISO 3200
Focal Length 100mm

Exposure 1/750 sec @ f/4.5
ISO 1600
Focal Length 53mm

Exposure 1/750 sec @ f/4
ISO 1600
Focal Length 21mm

Exposure 1/640 sec @ f/5.6
ISO 3200
Focal Length 100mm

ISO 1600
Focal Length 60mm

ISO 3200
Focal Length 88mm

Exposure 1/800 sec @ f/5.6
ISO 3200
Focal Length 78mm

ISO 3200
Focal Length 100mm

ISO 1600
Focal Length 53mm

ISO 3200
Focal Length 88mm

ISO 3200
Focal Length 100mm

Exposure 1/640 sec @ f/4.5
ISO 3200
Focal Length 48mm

Exposure 1/640 sec @ f/5
ISO 3200
Focal Length 53mm

ISO 3200
Focal Length 88mm

ISO 1600
Focal Length 48mm

Exposure 1/400 @ f/5.6
ISO 3200
Focal Length 68mm