Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
02-24-2014, 10:37 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Dreamy woods
Lens: DA 15 Camera: K5 Photo Location: WA, USA ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/6s Aperture: F11 

I shot this and was going for the "dreamy" or "fantasy" look. Really, I have little experience with photography and would like to improve in almost every area.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
02-24-2014, 11:00 AM - 1 Like   #2

excellent photo!!! this camera i dreaming .
02-24-2014, 11:21 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
very nice shot. For future similar shots, you might want to try stepping a few feet either direction (left in this case) and letting the tree trunk block the sun from your image. I find the defined light source to be distracting from the 'dreamy' portions.

Maybe crop the top of the image and the little from the right? Also, maybe one of the lightroom/photoshop plugins with a soft focus effect could be good here. Still, it's a lovely scene!
02-24-2014, 11:54 AM   #4
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by dagaetch Quote
very nice shot. For future similar shots, you might want to try stepping a few feet either direction (left in this case) and letting the tree trunk block the sun from your image. I find the defined light source to be distracting from the 'dreamy' portions.
Agreed. This is the sort of composition where small changes can make a huge difference. @dagaetch pointed out moving or angling one way or the other to better block the sun behind a tree. I'll also note that how high you hold the camera is something to play with. You could give the perspective of being a small child in the woods just by holding the camera at what would be there eye level.

02-24-2014, 11:59 AM   #5

Original Poster
Guys, these are great comments! Thanks!
02-24-2014, 12:05 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter