Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-09-2014, 07:35 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Newbie Here
Lens: DA 18-55mm Camera: K30 Photo Location: Arnprior ON. Canada ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/250s Aperture: F5.6 

Hi, I've started taking pictures without using the "auto" setting. This is one of my first pictures I took on full manual. Thank god for the digital and easy delete, it would cost me a small fortune in film!! Other people love this photo, but I don't see it. Maybe I'm too critical on myself. Let me know and don't hold back.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
03-09-2014, 11:00 AM   #2

This shot may have been more effective if you would have taken it in the landscape orientation.
03-09-2014, 11:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think diagonal. I like the perspective stuff, but straight up the middle is more documentary unless there is a more dominant subject featured in the composition.
03-09-2014, 11:41 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Leading and disappearing lines (the rails) are a classic composition. You can play with the angles and points of view to recompose but it's also okay the way it is. Even better would be if the lines lead to something like a sunset, moon, or the rails turning and disappearing out of the frame. An oncoming speeding locomotive is good too!

03-09-2014, 12:58 PM - 1 Like   #5

It's a good subject, and I like the framing. I would adjust the gamma to bring up mid tones, and maybe shoot for more depth of field to get nice texture in the closer ties.
03-10-2014, 08:14 AM   #6
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks for all the input, I didn't mention I was limited with this photo because the rest of the tracks are gone, and they had the bridge fenced off. I slipped the lens through a hole in the fence and tried to only get the tracks and not the fence on the other side of the bridge.
03-10-2014, 08:28 AM   #7