Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2014, 08:57 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Help required: sun & leaves
Lens: DA 1:1.8 50mm Camera: K5 Photo Location: West of Scotland ISO: 80 Shutter Speed: 1/180s Aperture: F9.5 

Help please...

I'm not happy with this photo but I can't quite work out why. I was trying to capture something a bit more striking and... well, it just looks flat.

My thoughts:

1. Subject matter is too boring. Not enough life (despite the wind) - maybe a much slower shutter speed to blur some of the leaves?
2. Not enough depth - maybe I need more of the OOF trees in the background?
3. Not enough colour contrast (too much white)?
4. Was it just a dull idea?!

I'm fairly new to all this, so just keen to understand why it hasn't worked as I hoped... the problem being I'm not 100% sure what I was actually after - just not this!

TIA.

03-22-2014, 09:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shooting straight into the sun has killed the contrast, flare as affected the lens. IMO

Maybe try backlight with less strong sun or shoot from shady position and get closer to the subject, fill the viewfinder. Hope this helps.
03-22-2014, 10:39 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Tell A Story?

Hello pjm1, welcome to the Forum!
Without getting into a long discussion about the merits of your photo, let me ask this. What did you see there? Art is about communication, you're showing an unknown viewer what you saw, that attracted, interested, surprised, amused, saddened, moved you.
If your intent was to show a starburst of sunlight behind the grass, gmans suggestions will apply. Showing great light and shadow, colors and composition, movement, nature, is a valid and sometimes wonderful subject.
But otherwise, the photo breaks a cardinal rule or guideline; No center of interest, no leading lines, no story.
Hope you won't be insulted, but I suggest you read this fully;