Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-01-2014, 09:52 AM   #1

Bowling Alley
Lens: smc Pentax-DA-18-55mm Camera: Pentax K-5 ii Photo Location: Bowling Alley ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/15s Aperture: F6.7 

I realize I can do more with some touch up's etc. I am very new to photography and this was the first photo I have ever post-processed. I look forward to your critique. Thank you in advance.

04-01-2014, 09:57 AM   #2

Original Poster
Bowling Photo

I obviously meant to attach this photo.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5 II  Photo 
04-01-2014, 10:27 AM   #3
Veteran Member

well, before we even venture into post processing, you need to master the basics of taking a usable photo.

1/15 sec is much much too slow for handheld shooting. to begin with, i'd suggest learning more about the basic aspects of what makes a technically good photo and how to use shutter speed, aperture and ISO to accomplish this. secondly, do some research on the art of composition also know as the "rule of thirds". there's a pretty good tutorial here on the forum, even.
perhaps a local community college offers a 6-8 class, or a local camera club offers seminars and peer review.

once you start getting a better handle on the basics of photography, we can worry about post processing. otherwise it's "just lipstick on a pig"

post processing will not made a bad photo better, or even useable, but it will make a very good photo special.
04-01-2014, 10:40 AM   #4

Original Poster