Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-10-2014, 03:43 PM   #1

Cat profile - Improving beginner photography
Lens: 01 Standard Prime Camera: Pentax Q 

Hi everyone,

I'm new to photography and would like to improve my photography and post processing skills.

Attached a picture of the profile of our cat straight out of the camera. It was shot in jpg but I've since switched to raw. ISO 160, Shutter Speed 1/13s, Aperture f/1.9

Thanks for your feedback!
Corinne

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX Q  Photo 
05-10-2014, 04:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

CB way off
High lights burned
Motion blur
Too narrow DOF
Too much contrast
Over saturated
Too little DR (poor metering)
etc etc.

Not much can be done with it try again.
Sorry.

Last edited by wildman; 05-17-2014 at 05:21 AM.
05-10-2014, 06:31 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
1/13th of a sec is mighty slow for a moving subject, such as a cat. You did a good job of getting some of the image sharp, but you really need a bit faster shutter speed and a little more depth of field. That may mean bumping up your ISO a couple of more notches. Also, the eyes are critical, not only in animal pics, but in people pics, too. They're how we connect to a photograph. You might think about changing your position next time so that you can see a bit more of the cat's "face".
05-10-2014, 07:52 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Getting down to the cat's level PoV as you have was the way to do it, Corinne!

05-11-2014, 07:44 AM   #5

Even more amazing is that the cat sat still that long with a camera pointed at it.
05-11-2014, 10:55 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi