Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
07-06-2014, 05:47 PM   #1

Thoughts appreciated - low light and composition....
Lens: Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 DC Macro Camera: Pentax K-30 Photo Location: Adelaide, SA ISO: 12800 Shutter Speed: 1/20s Aperture: F8 

Hi,

I was playing around with low light, no flash photography and trying to learn about composition.

Any thoughts on how I can improve...

I am a relative newbie, and am starting to get used to the camera now (until recently, I messed up every photo that had to use the flash... tonight I think I learnt about using the P and M modes in conjunction with the ISO, aperture and speed. I no longer got yellow tinged photos, but rather clean bright photos. I even managed to take some snaps with no flash!

Now to keep the momentum going...

=F.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
07-07-2014, 10:15 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The depth of field is too shallow so the out of focus right eye and the airplane are distractions. The problem is likely the choice of lens.

The use of flash is always recommended especially if it is bounced or as fill-in, even through a white handkerchief.

Check your photos immediately so you can take another if necessary.

Learn to "SEE" not just "LOOK".

Read some books or find free on line.

Good luck.
07-07-2014, 04:48 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. That's much appreciated.

as a matter of interest, what type of lens would be more appropriate for these types of shots?

Also, are you saying that if the plane was in focus (and his right eye), then the image would be stronger? Would using a different lens keep the background out of focus and the face/plane in focus? I used the standard lens in macro mode.

I will do some more reading.

=F.
07-07-2014, 06:18 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Put away the camera. Ditto what I wrote before.