Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2014, 12:13 PM   #1

Beginner photography help needed
Lens: Pentax SMC DA 18-135mm WR Camera: K30 

Hi. I'm new to SLR photography and would appreciate some critiques of the 3 pictures I've attached. I've been using Av mode and focusing mainly on aperture and white balance, though I recently started experimenting with exposure. I'm not at a stage where I want to start manipulating the picture on my computer, so I'd appreciate comments limited to composition or settings on my camera. I think the EXIF data should show up, but if not I can post these in separate posts and manually add the data.

A few specific questions/concerns- on the red rock landscape, I think the color of the sky is messed up. I was using a circular polarizer because of the bright sky, but perhaps I'm using it wrong?

For the llama picture, I was experimenting with depth of field but had difficulties with focusing.

I like the way the flamingo picture turned out (including the saturated colors), but is it too yellow? Would a different white balance have worked better?

Thanks!

Attached Images

08-08-2014, 12:21 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think the flamingo shot is the best of the series as it is. However, I would recommend cropping away the foreground in order to adjust your composition to use the rule of things. The foreground is out of focus and uninteresting anyway.

The other two photos are underexposed. In the llama photo, the DOF actually looks very nice. After you bump up the contrast and exposure and fix the vignetting, I think the picture will really come to life.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)