Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2014, 06:56 PM   #1
Inactive Account

straight from camera
Lens: 50-200 Camera: pentax k-50 ISO: 200 Aperture: F5.6 

Good day!
This picture is straight from my camera.
I would love to hear your thoughts on it, as I'm still learning!
I don't remember what my shutter speed was at

Attached Images

09-16-2014, 07:13 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I can't read the EXIF data from your image here but I'll start with this:
(maybe some people will come in a be able to get the EXIF from your photo??)

1. the bird is underexposed (metering) ... I would use spot metering for that shot. Did you use matrix metering?
There is a bit of backlight and that will fool the metering quite often ... there are ways to get around that too.
2. the bird is out of focus (user error or lens shake) or you moved the camera while using a slow shutter speed.
3. was this shot at 200 mm ?
4. did you use a tripod?
5. do you have the original image, and not cropped? This would actually help a lot?
6. I assume this was a JPEG shot and not RAW?

Now for the good part: I like this image in spite of no. 1 and 2 above !

I'll return later to see if anyone has "taken over"

Cheers!
09-16-2014, 07:55 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I don't know what matrix metering is :/
It was taken at 200mm I didn't want to get to close as I have a minor fear of birds
No tripod
This is the original picture not sure why it looks cropped but I haven't touched it, it is straight from my camera
And yes it was jpeg not raw
I have another picture of him I'll post
This one is the same settings just moved back a touch so I wasnt falling down the hill lol
Attached Images

09-17-2014, 05:36 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by jade Quote
This is the original picture not sure why it looks cropped but I haven't touched it, it is straight from my camera