Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-17-2008, 11:17 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Morning Lake photos

Well, I have been shooting on and off with a rebel xt for a couple of years while I played around with photography. I have recently decided to get more serious about my photography which I know will involve effort, time and schooling of some sort. Thats why I ditched the rebel and got a real camera (K10d). :)

So I went down to a local lake close to where I live yesterday morn as the sun rose and snapped off some photos. I have chosen 5 of the ones that really catch my eye and I would like your opinion mainly on the different compositions and which is more pleasing. And please mention why (rule of thirds, etc).

Also any other critique as well will do nicely. The pics were taken at either 100 or 200 ISO. I shoot in M and use the little green button to meter. (God thats freaking handy!). I used the kit lens and contrast is set to +2 and saturation is set to +1.

I know they are all rather similar but again I would like to know which has the most pleasing composition. Not much originality (sun rising over lake with tree) I know but hey...it was there and I shot it. Also, no post production has been done at all. Just straight jpegs from the camera that have been downsized.

Let me know what you think.

Attached Images

05-17-2008, 11:20 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Original Poster
By the way, I really like to use dark spaces, negative space and sillouhuettes. So the darkened ground was intentional. I like it, but does it make a good photo?

Bokeh
05-17-2008, 11:23 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
They are all very nice! I particularly like #1 and #3! #2 should perhaps be cropped from below to move the horizon some more off center.
05-18-2008, 12:16 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster