Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-06-2014, 09:58 PM   #1
Forum Member

My First Post as A First Time DSLR User; Please Help Out :(
Lens: DAL 18-55/3.5-5.6 WR Camera: K-50 Photo Location: Neighbourhood ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/2s Aperture: F3.5 

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

It is my first time using Lightroom too.

Sorry that I am not quite sure how to post and translate the information.

Please correct me if I am wrong

ISO: 100
Focal Length: 18mm
Aperture: f/3.5
Shuttle Speed: 0.4 sec
Shot in Auto Mode

Concerns:
1. I captured in both JPG and DNG format. I opened JPG and DNG. They look different. Is this normal?
2. I am preparing a trip to Vegas. How can I improve my night photography skills? There is going to be more lights and people.....

Thank you!

12-06-2014, 11:24 PM   #2

1.JPG are processed inside the camera while DNG is the raw image so it is normal for the JPG and DNG to look different.

2.For night photography a tripod is useful for longer exposures and to reduce the shake
12-06-2014, 11:28 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by wyc14 Quote
1.JPG are processed inside the camera while DNG is the raw image so it is normal for the JPG and DNG to look different.

2.For night photography a tripod is useful for longer exposures and to reduce the shake
So to improve my shots, basically, I need to reduce shake? It has nothing to do with the setting or any other aspects?

Thank you wyc14!
12-07-2014, 12:41 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Hexism Quote
So to improve my shots, basically, I need to reduce shake?