Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2015, 09:36 AM   #1
Inactive Account

More questions than answers
Lens: 50-200mm kit lens Camera: Pentax K-50 Photo Location: Port Jefferson, NY USA ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/125s Aperture: F5.6 

Hi,
New to DSLR photography. I have some experience shooting film 20+ years ago. When film went away I sort of lost track and I am trying to come up to speed.
Went out this morning to get some shots in the early morning. Most of my shots came out super noisy. I am trying to get my head around changing ISO to compensate for exposure. That is something I really never did as a film photographer. I had my trusty tripod but never broke it out.
This is a shot looking out on Port Jefferson harbor.
I hope I did this correctly
Jim

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
01-29-2015, 10:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

A "noisy" image is a result of your signal to noise ratio being less than "optimum". It is more apparent in the darker tones because 0,0,0 is black. Data from a sensor is stored right to left (if viewing a histogram) with more data available for highlights than shadows. thus, you get more noise in blacker areas than you do whiter areas.

It's the basic premise of "Exposing to the Right" (ETTR). Google it, and/or try Luminous Landscape for articles/tutorials.

Lastly, the image shown would have been a great candidate for Graduated Neutral Density Filters. A 1-2 stop GND would have balanced the highlights (top half) with the foreground (shadows), allowing for more data capture. More data means less noise. Your overall shutter speed would probably have dropped 1-2 stops as well, so you would have needed that tripod you had with you.
01-29-2015, 10:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums