Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2015, 07:30 PM   #1

Seattle reflects the sunset
Lens: Pentax DA 55-300WR Camera: Pentax K-50 Photo Location: Seattle, WA ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/160s Aperture: F4.5 

I'm pretty new to photography, and I'd love any suggestions you may have.

Are the birds a nice way to break up the otherwise-boring sky? Does the slight blur keep the attention on the city, or is it distracting? What else would have made this better?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
02-24-2015, 10:20 PM   #2

Cityscape Seattle reflects the sunset

Lovely photo, lovely light and composition.

Are the birds a nice way to break up the otherwise-boring sky? Yes, the birds are a good touch.

Does the slight blur keep the attention on the city, or is it distracting? What else would have made this better? The main issue with this image is that nothing is sharp. My guess it was taken hand held. I'd suggest using a tripod (or a home made bean bag to rest your camera if you don't have one), using a lower ISO, which would mean less noise and a smaller aperture (i.e. bigger the f-stop) all of which would help to make your image sharper.

Tripods are a worthwhile investment. My landscape photography has improved dramatically since using a tripod and the timer as it minimises camera shake.
02-25-2015, 04:51 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Tolelady Downunder Quote
The main issue with this image is that nothing is sharp.
I think the softness could be related to the software used for downsizing. Here it is after a little bit of Unsharp Mask.

Tim
02-25-2015, 06:42 AM   #4
Pentaxian