Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2015, 01:36 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A Question of Proximity
Lens: Pentax SMC-M 28mm f/2.8 Camera: Pentax K-50 Photo Location: Midtown Manhattan ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/500s Aperture: F8 

It is often said that the best street photography is up close and personal; but is there a point when street photography can be excessively up close and personal?

I spent yesterday in midtown Manhattan with a specific agenda -- to take street photos of New Yorkers in their urban environment at close proximity (about 5 feet away). I like what the proximity does for the images. We see more details and facial expressions really become alive. However, because I am still new at this photography thing, I do find myself asking a certain compositional questions as I develop my style: does the proximity take the subjects out of their environment? in other words, do these images come across more as "portraits" than "street photography"?

Additionally, do the images "work" in color? I am consistently menaced by the enigma of white balance. Shooting in RAW only makes matters worse. I find myself in endless and indecisive tinkering. It drives me nuts.

Thanks in advance for your consideration!

Last edited by oculus; 03-25-2015 at 12:55 AM.
03-20-2015, 04:31 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I'm no authority, but I think your WB looks okay in these. I like the energy of the close subject and dramatic backgrounds. Watch out you don't get punched doing that with strangers in New York, though.

What I would change about these photos (though it's an artistic choice and I don't claim to know what I'm talking about), but... I would crop these straight or at least establish one horizontal or vertical line somewhere. Photos 1 and 2 have wildly leaning buildings. I would either horizontally level the photo using a street sign as the horizon or vertically on one of the buildings.