Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-11-2015, 05:57 AM   #1
Forum Member

Portrait as a favor for a client - ideas please!
Lens: DA*16-50 Camera: K-5 

Hi everyone,

I have been shooting this woman's jewelry this past year while in Haiti for her Etsy page. She makes enamel necklaces and earrings - really beautiful work. I have no hesitation saying I am pretty new in the formal portrait field, but she insisted that I take her photo for an upcoming show of her work in Boston for brochures, etc. I have made a few touch ups in lightroom and have come up with this. I would love to hear from those with more experience than me working with portraits as to what I might do to improve the color, cropping, etc.

She insisted on the wooded background - a little busy maybe, but she really wanted some trees - which are hard to come by in Haiti!

Thanks everyone.

---------- Post added 06-11-15 at 08:58 AM ----------

Also, should I be cropping in at 8X10?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
06-11-2015, 07:00 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
People want what they want and you can't really convince them otherwise, they know best. While saying that, the branches that intersect her head are not helpful. I would start all over again.

---------- Post added 06-11-15 at 10:05 AM ----------

Of course you could always put in a completely new background. One that is much more pleasing. With her hair color and blue shirt it shouldn't be that difficult.
06-11-2015, 07:21 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
you could apply filter for the back ground like Gaussian blur in Photoshop to make it less prominent
applying a filter would be only the case for me if i would not have the chance to take a better picture
06-11-2015, 07:26 AM   #4
Pentaxian

like this, just a part to save time... :-)

Attached Images

06-11-2015, 08:37 AM   #5
Forum Member