Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-03-2015, 09:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Whats Wrong, What's Right?
Lens: HD PENTAX-D FA 150-450mm F4.5-5.6ED DC AW Camera: k3ll Photo Location: Puget Sound ISO: 400 Shutter Speed: 1/320s Aperture: F8 

Beginner here looking to learn. A post editing emphasis because I was shooting in noon sun and tripod not quite sturdy enough and possibly could have chosen less depth of field but I was worried about getting decent focus at such distance at 450 mm. First time with "the beast" lens. Would a lowered angle of sunlight have improved the details in the feathers? It looks flat to me. The bird was constantly moving so shutter may have been too slow. I applied just a touch of post editing for the first time with LR. Colors are natural, added some contrast and a tad bit of sharpness. Thanks for your time.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
07-03-2015, 11:17 AM   #2

It may be a difference in monitors but your picture looks dark and muddy on mine. I used Photoshop Elements and a Topaz Filter to lighten the shadows and add some pop. Mine might look to light on your monitor?
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
07-03-2015, 11:34 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by plantej Quote
Beginner here looking to learn. A post editing emphasis because I was shooting in noon sun and tripod not quite sturdy enough and possibly could have chosen less depth of field but I was worried about getting decent focus at such distance at 450 mm. First time with "the beast" lens. Would a lowered angle of sunlight have improved the details in the feathers? It looks flat to me. The bird was constantly moving so shutter may have been too slow. I applied just a touch of post editing for the first time with LR. Colors are natural, added some contrast and a tad bit of sharpness. Thanks for your time.