Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2015, 03:44 AM   #1
Forum Member

New to RAW
Lens: 18-135 WR Camera: K50 Photo Location: Cape Cod, MA ISO: 400 Aperture: F11 

Day 4 with my new K50 and really enjoying this.

I'm completely new to Raw so have the K50 set to Raw+ so I can compare them to JPG's. I was hoping to get some comments on the below JPG's which were exported from Picasa from the original Raw file.

First is the unedited except for whatever Picasa does when it imports the file. The second one is some tweaking I did with Picasa's sliders.

Let me know what you think.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
08-10-2015, 04:24 AM   #2

One of the advantages of using RAW as against JPEG is you have much greater flexibility with shadow detail, perhaps 1.5 stops or more.

So I prefer the dramatic horizon with the dominating sun's rays and after-glow against the dark sky. You might even be able to reduce the highlights so the sun is more pronounced as well.

While there's more shadow detail in the second processing there's not much of interest. The beach reveals some details. But they now point away from the sun to the far shore, neutralising the strong sunset and losing it in a brighter sky. It's a better exposure but your picture should pop, rather than be flat, in my view.

You need a raw editor, with a masking and tone curve function. This helps retain the drama of the sunset sky, while upping the beach shadow. You could also increase the contrast in the shadow as well. Even vignetting around the sunset on the left is worth exploring.

What are you trying to achieve? Is it meant to be a record shot? In that case, the second image has more to offer in disclosing the look of the beach and buildings at sunset. If you want to convey some of the drama, then it's worth playing with it some more.