Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2015, 02:51 PM   #1

Ulverstone Beach, Tasmania
Lens: Pentax 18-135mm Camera: K3 Photo Location: Ulverstone Beach, Tasmania ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/80s Aperture: F20 

Hello,

I am a beginner at best and I'm looking for advice, in general, although my specific concern is a lack of sharpness when zoomed into 100%. Any advice you can offer will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Sarah

Name:  Ulverstone Beach.jpg
Views: 1638
Size:  218.7 KB

09-13-2015, 03:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hi, and welcome to the forums.

At a casual glance your scene looks pretty sharp, particularly in the foreground. Examining a scene at 100% on screen is often a recipe for frustration, however, with many images. Unless you have everything under your direct control (eg in a studio), there are too many things that may have a negative impact on what you see in outdoor shots - the light, the air, subject movement etc etc.

QuoteOriginally posted by sarahswyer Quote
Aperture: F20
This kind of aperture might be contributing to the lack of sharpness you describe, due to diffraction. f8 would be fine I suspect for your current scene, delivering you plenty of depth of field without necessarily introducing any softness.

I'd also bump the shutter up a lot to remove any possible camera shake or scene movement. 1/250 would be a good baseline, particularly if the scene is windy, whilst still allowing you to keep the ISO very low in a bright scene.

A good sturdy tripod may also help improve image sharpness in landscape scenes, if you aren't using one already.
09-16-2015, 02:13 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Rawr,

Thank you for your reply and advice. I'll be sure to take a tripod next time and play around with the shutter speed too.

Thanks again,
Sarah
09-25-2015, 05:57 PM   #4
Pentaxian