Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-17-2015, 05:40 AM   #1

I'm not sure why this is my favourite photo
Lens: Pentax-M 28mm 2.8 Camera: K10D Photo Location: Bufones de Pría, Asturias (Spain) Shutter Speed: 1/150s 

Hi!

So, here I present you what is probably (one of) my favourite photos I have taken so far. The thing is: I'm not sure why I like it so much (I'm not good at consciently composing photos... still working on that).

(I'd ask you to give make your opinion before reading mine :-) ).

Sure, it's a nice cliff, it has this sort of curvy-dynamic from the bottom left corner to the top of the cliff. Parallel to that I really like the color of the sea and especially how it transitions. Together with the white sky it gives me a feeling of vast, which nicely fits to the sea motive and impresses me a bit. It's also really sharp. But still, I'm not sure if it's so "impressive" if you don't know the rest of the area where it was taken (a spectacular coast stripe in Asturias, aka ing paradise, in northern Spain). Also achieving nice colours is a bit of my achilles heel (together with sharpness, which was probably due to my lenses). I have also spent a lot of time unsuccesfully trying to get a satisfying photo of the sea (as I love it so much). So I might be a bit biased by my own photographic "traumas".

What do you think?

It's a stich of 5 photos and probably my first succsessfull attempt to make landscape/nature photography with this technique. Camera was the K10D with the SMC Pentax-M 28mm F2.8 on it. Had to put the frame because with the white sky it melts with the forum background resulting in something really dull. Also it get's a lot better at bigger size (really like it at full size with my 12" tablet).

Attached Images

10-17-2015, 06:28 AM   #2
mee
Veteran Member

Water to the hazy, white sky has a nice, smooth gradient to it.. Rocky ledge is really sharp.