Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-16-2016, 06:49 PM   #1

Portrait critique
Lens: Pentax 77mm limited Camera: K3ii 

Hi all. I'm new to portrait photography so I'm just looking for some good CC. Here are some from a senior shoot I did last week, and a few other portraits from the last few months of friends.
Also would love to hear everyone's lens preferences for similar work!
Thanks!

Attached Images

02-16-2016, 07:13 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I like the very first shot the best. The framing, the shapes, the eyes... they make for a great photo. It draws you right in. Also the idea of a square-ish crop with the round fur is very appealing.

As for ways to improve I would study lighting more and see what ideas you can come up with. Look on the forum at some of the more advanced better shooters and see how they use light to make their pictures 'pop' and stand out more. It's not just light... it's the kind of light... and when and where that kind of light falls and flows. To take it from good to great will be how you manage the light and how you select what kind of light you will use in both the foreground and background.

To add to that the same thing could be said for the potential use of shadows as well.

---------- Post added 02-16-16 at 08:18 PM ----------

On the very last shot of the girl with the cello tell me more about that one. What lens did you use? Did you shoot it holding the camera horizontal or vertical?

That shot has a lot of potential as well, but I want to get more information before I start offering advice.
02-16-2016, 07:33 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums