Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2016, 08:51 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Postprocessing test
Lens: Pentax Kit 18-50mm / 4.0-5.6 Camera: KS2 Photo Location: Aalborg, DK 

Hi guys,

Hereunder 2 pictures I took in/around Aalborg, Denmark. As I said in my previous post, I am new to DSLR and post processing, and I would like to have some feedback about what to do. I don't really have the "eye" yet for what to improve when the pic is on my screen.

When I look at the original pictures and processed picture in the end, I even almost see no difference

I upload 2 rather different pics, both in the original and my processed way. What would you have done differently?

Thank you already!

As shot

Processed

As shot

Processed

07-05-2016, 02:34 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
On the first image I'm seeing a wee bit of cropping all round the image, but what other type of processing do you think you have done to this image?

And the second image is really subtle if at all, now we may have lost some sharpening detail on upload, but the same question as first, the what other type of processing do you think you have done?
07-06-2016, 03:46 AM   #3
Pentaxian

It would be helpful to know what software you are using. That way any suggestions can be tailored to the limits of your software.

Tim
07-06-2016, 05:42 AM   #4

Original Poster
Hello guys,

Thank you for reacting to this.

I am glad to see that I am not blind, and that the differences are not clear for you either.

What I did was, for pic 1, crop the left part and play a bit with highlights and shadows. For the second pic I mostly brightened the shadows. As I could not see a notable change and as I did not understand what the rest would do, I didn't go much further. Sorry if this is lazy!

Concerning the software, I use Lightroom.