Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2017, 08:45 PM   #1

Happy Doggo
Lens: SMC Pentax-M 50mm f/1.7 Camera: Pentax K-30 Photo Location: planet earth ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/125s 

So, tell it to me straight. What do you guys think? Keep in mind, this is my first real camera, and I'm new at this. I'm still learning the camera and it was really cloudy out, but I liked the result. Tell me what I'm doing wrong:

Attached Images

Last edited by Vicioustuna2012; 02-17-2017 at 11:54 PM.
02-18-2017, 03:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

It's a sweet photo! Colours are good, composition is nice, focus is on the eyes (ideally, the dog would be looking at the camera, but I know how hard that is). Only thing is, it seems a little soft. Was the lens at its widest aperture? I dunno if that lens tends to be soft wide open, but that's certainly what it seems like. Stopping down a bit and decreasing your shutter speed might help. For a portrait like this, 1/60s is a safe slowest shutter speed, although you could probably go even a bit slower.
02-18-2017, 08:54 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I think the Green is a bit distracting. I agree with Zoe on the focus slightly off and a bit of a soft look.

To fix the green issue for me, I just made a real quick adjustment to saturation on green in lightroom and added a vignette to direct the focus to the dog rather than the background

02-18-2017, 10:48 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bakerking31 Quote
I think the Green is a bit distracting. I agree with Zoe on the focus slightly off and a bit of a soft look.

To fix the green issue for me, I just made a real quick adjustment to saturation on green in lightroom and added a vignette to direct the focus to the dog rather than the background