Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2017, 06:07 PM   #1

Little Windows
Lens: smc PENTAX-DA L 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED Camera: Pentax K-30 Photo Location: Planet Omicron Persei 8 ISO: 400 Shutter Speed: 1/60s Aperture: F4 

Well, this is (in my opinion) one of my better candid portraits. There was no setup, and it was done with available light indoors on a sunny day, albeit beside a huge floor to ceiling glass window. Just a shot of the niece taken when my Brother was in town. It's a b&w conversion, and I really like how it captured her eyes. The color version looks great too, but I just really like the drama the b&w version adds to it. There's more contrast here as well. Be brutally honest, and tell what you guys think.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 
04-01-2017, 06:23 PM   #2
Forum Member

Isn't there always drama with little kids? ha ha, just kidding. I'm not a pro but I think the colored version might be more flattering. It's a cute baby, with a serious face and in black and white. What is the mood in the environment your trying to capture? happy, serene, contentment, wonder.or something else?. I do like the composition, soft natural light and you brought out the baby beautiful eyes..
04-01-2017, 08:34 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Scotteroni Quote
Isn't there always drama with little kids? ha ha, just kidding. I'm not a pro but I think the colored version might be more flattering. It's a cute baby, with a serious face and in black and white. What is the mood in the environment your trying to capture? happy, serene, contentment, wonder.or something else?. I do like the composition, soft natural light and you brought out the baby beautiful eyes..