Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 12 Likes Search this Thread
10-23-2017, 03:45 PM   #1

Need Help/Critique to improve
Lens: Tamron 17-50 f2.8 Camera: Pentax K5 Photo Location: Basque Country ISO: 160 Shutter Speed: 1/250s Aperture: F6.3 

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete beginner at photography and I would appreciate some help to improve as a photographer and get better pictures. I got my first DSLR camera from this page a couple of weeks ago, and last weekend had some time to get photos which would like to share with you (those which i like most) in order to get some feedback.

I don't know if it's OK if upload them all in one post or if I have to post each one with it's respective thread as I'm new here. If it's OK please tell me as I would like to upload them as well, but for now I will post my favourite one. Hope you like it too!

The first picture is how it looks like in the raw, and the second picture is post-processed.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Images

10-23-2017, 05:33 PM - 1 Like   #2
Tas
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
G'Day mate,

I really like the sky exposure, you've retained all the detail including around the setting sun so it looks really good.

When you look at your image do you see a lot of black and a wonderful sky? This is what I see with both the RAW and the processed image. Typically a scene like this requires more dynamic range than what the camera sensor can handle so this is where you have to look at retaining the sky so it doesn't blow out whilst capturing some great foreground detail. It's really hard to assess the image because of the dark area, but I'll provide some feedback to hopefully point you in the right direction, as I'm sure others will too.